Ambition to Comfort

Ambition to Comfort

Ambition to Comfort
Camera: Argus C3 (1953)
Film: Kodak Eastman Double X 5222; 250iso
Process: Xtol; Stock; 7min
Sprague, Washington

I find myself in a lot of vacant lots filled with old trucks. Naturally, when faced with this many ancient vehicles, I want to photograph them. The problem is that there aren’t that many different and interesting ways to capture cars on film.

Not wishing to go for the same old same, I thought a bit of foreground work might be a fine idea. I like how the background (obviously a truck) defines the foreground (not so obviously a truck next to a dark something that turns out is a truck). Maybe without the background, the foreground wouldn’t be so obvious.

Sure, I could have just shot the truck in the foreground head on, but in the end, I wasn’t trying to take a picture of a truck. I wanted to capture what it was like to be in a vacant lot full of trucks.

4 thoughts on “Ambition to Comfort

  1. I went through a phase where I took a lot of photos through windshields. I liked the idea that I was looking through a portal that someone else, someone I’d never met, had spent a lot of time looking through, too
    .

Leave a Reply

