Those Days and Nights

Those Days and Nights

Those Days and Nights
Camera: Olympus Pen-FT
Film: Kodak Panatomic X (x-06/91); 20iso
Process: Xtol 1+1; 7.5min; 20C
Shaniko, Oregon

About once each week, I go back and forth on whether or not to sell my Olympus Pen-FT – the half frame SLR that I wanted so badly. I had dreams of magical diptychs and making short rolls of weird film specifically for the Pen.

But as it turns out, I’m not very good at putting images together – at least not in the field. And I never got around to short rolling.

These shots of a rotting old piano could easily lead me into the false sense that I can actually pull this off. But looking more honestly at it, it would be hard to take any two random photos of a rotting piano and not have them complement each other.

I need to purge myself of a few cameras this winter. The Olympus Pen-FT might indeed be one of them.

2 thoughts on “Those Days and Nights

  1. I find half-frame shooting to be challenging too. First, I struggle with the default portrait orientation and tend to want to turn the camera sideways. But that limits my ability to do meaningful diptychs, which really is a draw of the format. And then it takes so dang long to get through a roll of film, even a 24-exp roll. It feels like the roll will never end.

    That said, I am inexorably drawn to the Olympus Pen cameras. I will own one someday.

    1. The portrait orientation was really messing with me at first. Doing the diptychs almost exclusively helps a bit, but I don’t think I will keep this camera. I hope that I don’t miss it.

Leave a Reply

