If I Could Trace

170218-zenit11-panatomicx-017

On each post, I keep track of the camera, film and processing. From now on (for the most part), I want to also note the lens that I was using, especially if it wasn’t just some random 50mm kit lens.

In this case, we’ve got the Helios 44-2. This one is quite special as the f/stop markings are backwards! That means if I want to have the lens set to f/16, I have to set it to f/2. If it’s a little overcast, and I feel like shooting f/8, I just have to set it somewhere sort of in the middle-ish.

When shooting with a camera body that has a meter in it, this is no problem at all. But when shooting with the Zenit, whose light meter is a mystery even unto itself, this poses a bit of a problem.

I usually tend to shoot at either f/16 or f/2 and compensate with the assuredly-accurate shutter speed.

.
.
.

‘If I Could Trace’

Camera: Zenit 11 / Helios 44-2
Film: Kodak Panatomic X (x-6/1991); 16iso
Process: HC-110B; 5.5mins

Seattle, Washington

Leave a Reply

