Wraith of Day

On April 1st, we traveled into eastern Washington for our first daytrip of the season. I brought along six camera, including this Brownie No. 2 from 1914. In all, I shot five rolls of film – mostly color.

Due to the extended cloudy winter we’re experiencing west of the Cascade Range this year, I’ve shot no color at all thus far. On this day, that finally changed.

I swapped some 35mm film for a handful of Kodak Ektachrome 400 and couldn’t be happier with it! I shot a single roll of it last year in 135, but never in 120 – and never something this old. When I comes to expired films, I’ll rarely dip into the 80s when it comes to color slide emulsion. I’ve found that it simply degrades too quickly.

This might be the oldest slide film I’ve ever shot, and I love the tones. One a day with a bit of sun and lots of clouds, I was chasing light, but it was more than worth it.

.
.
.

‘Wraith of Day’

Camera: Kodak Brownie No. 2 Model D (1914)
Film: Kodak Ektachrome 400 (x-08/1987)
Process: C-41

Snowden Road, Adams County, Washington

2 thoughts on “Wraith of Day

Leave a Reply

