With Sleepless Eye

I’ve seen various bits of advice about how to shoot this strange color film – Kodak Vericolor 4111 – but nothing was really described in any sort of detail.

First, this isn’t a normal color negative film. It was originally intended to make color transparencies of color negatives. Because of this, it has no orange layer, which turns everything blue. Because of this an 85 filter is needed. I used an 85B, and I wish I had something a touch stronger. I thought about just using a generic orange gel, but didn’t.

On top of that, it’s got an incredibly low ISO of 6 (or maybe even 3).

Even with the filter and proper exposure, it leans very heavily on the blues. The other colors are there, you just have to dig a bit for them.

In my scanning software, I adjusted the colors, nearly eliminating all the blues that I could. This is the result. I’m sure I could have done a bit more with it, but it was a quick test to see what was possible.

I’m honestly not sure how much the filter does (if anything at all), but I’ve taken other shots this past weekend without it and we’ll see later.

.
.
.

‘With Sleepless Eye’

Camera: Crown Graphic 4×5 (1962)
Lens: 127mm f/4.7 Rodenstock Ysarex
Film: Kodak Vericolor 4111 (x-06/2004); 6ISO
Process: C-41

Seattle, Washington

2 thoughts on “With Sleepless Eye

    1. That’s basically the case. It takes a lot of coaxing to make it give you anything that’s not completely blue. I actually had to just ditch the color for a few of them. Fortunately, they make some really nice b&ws.

Leave a Reply

