Passed in Tumult

Let’s talk about all the things that went wrong.

First, this was a sheet of film that was originally loaded into a leaky holder. That accounts for the bright leak in the bottom left corner.

This was one of the last photos I developed using the “taco method” in a Paterson tank. The curved line in the bottom center of the photo is due to the hairtie used to “taco” the sheet. This likely only appears when you stand develop 4×5 film using this method – other, faster methods probably aren’t as effected.

The fogging over the entire right of the frame is a bit of a mystery, but I think it’s related to the two weird swooshes against the right border. When I opened the tank after developing, two of the sheets, including this one, had come undone and chaos ensued.

I now have a dedicated tank made specifically for 4×5 film, so this won’t happen again.

Also, I clearly used the wrong lens. This needed the 90mm.

Lastly, my car is in the photo. The second after I took this, I noticed it. Why didn’t this occur to me the second before I took the photo? I don’t know.

I wanted to shoot this building the moment I caught it out of the corner of my eye. I’m pretty sure I got a few shots with some 35mm or another, but that doesn’t really make up for this utter travesty of a photograph.

.
.
.

‘Passed in Tumult’

Camera: Crown Graphic 4×5 (1962)
Lens: 127mm f/4.7 Rodenstock Ysarex
Film: Kodak Royal Pan (x-03/1970); 100ISO
Process: HC-110; 100+1; 60mins

Ritzville, Washington

2 thoughts on “Passed in Tumult

    1. Thanks! That’s really important to me. Photography isn’t just about shooting the best shot, it’s about the whole ordeal. Learning from our mistakes and mindlessness is all part of photography. I could just post my favorite shots, but that isn’t what I enjoy the most. I like seeing how I can make bad shots better just as much as I like seeing those perfect moments.

Leave a Reply

