Doubts to Find the Light

I need to move closer. I need to be more okay with people approaching me to ask what I’m doing. Of course, I’m afraid they’ll tell me to move along and that I won’t get my shot. But, for the most part, people are cool with you taking photos, as long as they’re not photos of them (especially when they don’t know they’re being photographed).

Another issue is that I don’t quite know the camera well enough yet. Though it appears that there’s a gulf of ground between the lens and the parking lot, there’s really not. I could have gotten closer, but I didn’t really think I had to.

Yes, peering through the glass, I should have been able to see the entire photo, but I’m always hesitant to throw the hood over the camera and duck my head inside. I don’t really feel safe doing it. I could get hit by a car or a guy or a guy with a car.

Maybe it’s a city thing, but I like knowing and seeing what’s going on around me. Once I get under the hood and have to devote everything to peering into that upsidedown 4×5 window, I’m left vulnerable in some pretty uncreative ways.

So, I want to shoot this again. Not sure when or how, but this deserves a second try.

That said, I love the blur going on in the bottom corners. I had no idea that sharpness dropped off so rapidly and intensely with this lens. It’s pretty shocking, really, and I’m glad that it happens.

It could have something to do with me shooting as wide as I can.

.
.
.

‘Doubts the Find the Light’

Camera: Crown Graphic 4×5 (1962)
Lens: 127mm f/4.7 Rodenstock Ysarex
Film: Arista Ultra Edu 100 (Fomapan 100)
Process: Rodinal 1+50; 9min

Lind, Adams County, Washington

Leave a Reply

