With a Crash of Light-

I never know what to make of these photos. This was taken while walking. Sure, I might have paused to avoid a bit of motion blur, but the stop was less than a second. Something about the scene caught my eye and I grabbed the nearest camera, took the shot, and really didn’t miss a beat.

As you can see, I didn’t exactly meter or worry too much about the focus. It’s blown out and a bit blurry. But it’s one of those shots that I can’t help buy loving.

Mostly, that has very little to do with me. Everything in the photo is ageless, and still in some sort of use. The air conditioners are from the 60s, most likely. The brick building itself is from the early 1900s. The box of tar (?) is from whenever we needed boxes of tar sitting around. Even the additions sided with corrugated tin seem impossible to place. I can’t get enough of scenes like this.

.
.
.

‘With a Crash of Light-‘

Camera: Zorki 4 (1960)
Film: Tasma Mikrat 300 (x-06/74); 6iso
Process: HC-110B; 6.5min

Lind, Adams County, Washington

Leave a Reply

