Daylight Melted

I’ve taken this shot maybe a dozen times. I absolutely love it. This photo isn’t exactly perfect – I’m not sure about the processing. I think I like this old stock in HC-110 stand. I’ve tried processing it as per the data sheet’s instructions – HC-110B for 4.5minutes, but I really didn’t care for that.

I don’t really like processing any b&w film for less than five minutes. Seven to ten is ideal. I follow the agitation rule of once per minute if it’s over five minutes long. More agitation than that makes it too contrasty for my liking. Additionally, the shorter the development time, the more room there is for error, especially at the end (for me, anyway).

This is covered in Anchell & Troop’s essential ‘Film Developing Cookbook’:

‘If the tank development time is less than six minutes a two tank system should always be used. The first tank should contain the developer, the second tank should contain the stop bath or water rinse. shortly before development is complete the light should be turned off and the lid removed from the tank. At the moment that development is complete the film should be pulled out of the tank, drained for ten seconds, then immediately immersed into the second tank. If a water rinse is used instead of an acid stop bath it should be a running water rinse for at least one minute or five complete changes. This method will ensure against streaking and uneven development. It can also be used with longer development times.’

.
Since I don’t have a darkroom, I can’t take the reels from the developing tank and put them into a stop tank. But because long development times usually require less concentrated developers, it isn’t as difficult to stop the developer with a fairly normal washing (I use water, not an acid stop).

.
.
.

‘Daylight Melted’

Camera: Seneca Chautauqua (c1905)
Film: Kodak Ektapan 4162 (x-01/81); 50iso
Process: Rodinal 1+50; 9min

Peshastin Pinnacles, Chelan County, Washington

Leave a Reply

