Fathoms Wide

Don’t get me wrong – shooting at Sunny 16 is a great thing. Is it sunny? Well, get yourself some 100 speed film, set it at f/16 and shoot it at 1/100sec and you’re good to go! It’s incredibly handy.

But shooting at f/16 can also be sort of boring. That’s why I love low ISO film. To follow the Sunny 16 rule, if I set the aperture to f/16, I’d have to shoot it at 1/6 of a second. And sure, I’ve got a tripod, but I can’t really think of a reason to bother with that.

So I shoot wide open (f/3.5) at something like 1/75sec (yeah, the Argus’ shutter is a bit slower than it claims to be). This gives you a more shallow depth of field and makes for sunny photos that you couldn’t get otherwise.

In short – fear not the low ISO films! Even if it were cloudy, I could have shot this at a slower shutter speed. 6iso is really only four stops away from 100iso – it’s not that big of a deal.

.
.
.

‘Fathoms Wide’

Camera: Argus C3 (1953)
Film: Tasma Mikrat 300 (x-06/1974); 6iso
Process: HC-110B; 6.5min

Blackman Ridge Road, Franklin County, Washington

Leave a Reply

